BRIDESBURG. Rehearsal Journal Day 8.

 

All things spring from here; Victor's words.

I’m in that in between period where I’m mostly off book but have a few places that still need a bunch of work.  I’m also in the place where I don’t quite know the other characters lines well enough to know where my triggers are to speak.  So, basically, I’m waiting for the person across from me to stop speaking. This is fine for where we’re at right now, but it’s no way to perform a play.

As people, we know what we want to say as we’re listening to the other person talk.  And, we somehow, magically, know when it’s our turn to talk, even when the other person is not yet done talking. Yet, on stage, we often have big gaps of time as actors “think” or are waiting for their “turn” to talk. These two traits become ingredients for a very slow evening in the theatre.  And, frankly, it’s just as boring to act in, or with, as it is to watch. As actors, we have to find our trigger to speak within the other persons line and then craft when we fire the line from that trigger.

It’s always a part of the process when you’re really nailing down your lines, but for me it’s often the most frustrating part of that process.  Inside it feels like my body wants to go faster then my mind is ready to go.  Emotionally I’m connecting to what is happening in the scene, but I don’t yet know the words well enough to connect it to those feelings.  Again, it’s all part of the learning curve and it usually only lasts a few days, but I’m smack in the middle of it right now and I’m wanting to be through to the other side of this phase where I can just let it rip.

Off to memorize…..

This entry was posted in BRIDESBURG. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

