Shooting Journal. Day 18.

It’s a wrap.

I’m a bit speechless about it all. This has been the hardest thing I’ve ever done (long days, immense pressure, learning on the fly), yet it feels like it went by in a flash. I’m incredibly sad to move out of production and into post. I love making movies. I love the doing of it. To adapt an old saying: a bad day making movies is better than a good day anywhere else.

A word to wise: if you’re gonna produce a movie, be sure to read the fine print. After we called wrap I had a ton of stuff to do. We needed to load out of our locations and base-camp to immediately return local rental equipment so we can be clear to get the cargo van full on NYC rental back to the city. In the past anytime I’ve been present for the wrap day of a movie I’ve only been an actor. In other words I’ve walked away and gone about my life. That doesn’t happen when you’re a producer. We even had a champagne toast set up that we never got to! You know you’re busy when people are passing up free booze.

I’m gonna need a few days try and find some perspective on this experience. All I’ll say now is that this has been so much more than I dreamed it would be. Thank you to everyone that has helped get us this far.

This entry was posted in How We Got Away With It. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shooting Journal. Day 18.

  1. Diane Guthrie says:

    Congratulations to the entire cast and crew! Now what, will it be a few months in the editing room? I have no idea obviously!
    As I’ve said before your enthusiasm really could be felt on your blog, and I know it will translate onto the film!
    You all deserve some rest and I look forward to seeing the film someday. Of course, I’ve been waiting over a year to see What Happens Next! Haha! Hi Jon!

  2. Diane Guthrie says:

    P.S. The time clock on this blog is incredibly inaccurate!

Leave a Reply

