Shooting Journal. Day 17.

I forgot to mention yesterday that I wrapped last night. I’ve finished my acting work on the film. The timing of that has worked out pretty well since Jon has his main Becker scenes coming up and I’ll be running the show while he’s in front of the camera.

It was odd how my scene trajectory played out within the schedule; I shot most of my really important scenes in the first week or so of shooting and then I had a couple key scenes in the last couple days. I still had a bunch to shoot in between, but the scenes that I had earmarked for myself fell at the beginning and the end of shooting. And then within that, all my heavy scenes were shot in the beginning and my light playful stuff was shot at the end. Looking back over the three weeks of shooting I’m really happy with the work that I did and I feel like I got at least one take that I feel confident in for each set-up I shot. Performances, and whole films for that matter, can be made or broken in editing. I’ll worry about that later when we start to refine the cut, but at the moment I feel good. The material is there to be worked with.

As the shoot has been coming to a close the cyclical nature of the three weeks is becoming apparent: we started with great weather, perfectly clear skies and blazing sun and that’s exactly what we had today on our second to last day of shooting. We we’re also back shooting Henry walking through Rochester on his way home. Luckily the weather is fantastic and will match well with what we shot on the first day. We also picked up some nice b-roll to intercut into Henry’s walk home. It’s important that we have the material to show the transition from the start of Henry’s walk to the end.

The two gentleman that walk by Henry, McCaleb Burnett, live on the street we were shooting on. They asked what we were doing, we told them we were making a movie and they jokingly said “need any extras,” which, of course, we did. These guys cam over and did a great job for us. It’s fun to watch people who are not in the business reset and do something over and over again. They usually walk away with a smile and a good story.

Like the first day of shooting the production was at it’s most exposed being off of the private property we have been shooting on and out into the city.  We didn’t get any permits for anything for the film. And we didn’t have one problem with that. Granted we shoot fast and we were very respectful of the areas we’re shooting in, but it was still a risk. As has been the story with the entire shoot, the people of Rochester have been so supportive. That has made me really proud of the place where I came from. There’s a lot at risk in this for me, I’ve called in a lot of favors and put a huge strain on my family. But the experience has been amazing and courtesy and respect from the people that live around our locations, or have simply been passing by, has been very humbling for me.

This entry was posted in How We Got Away With It. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shooting Journal. Day 17.

  1. Excellent site. Lots of useful information here. I am sending
    it to several friends ans additionally sharing in
    delicious. And of course, thanks in your sweat!

Leave a Reply

