The solo shooter.

One of the toughest things about producing an indie film, or in my case a Proof Of Concept trailer, is getting people to help you.  It’s really tough to get a crew together working for nothing besides some food or a few beers at the end of the day.  On the other side of things it’s usually not a problem to get actors for nothing.  But, that said, they have something to take away from the project: footage for their reel.  A boom op doesn’t necessarily get the same artistic/career pay off.

While I’ve been shooting the Proof of Concept trailer for Jones McCree I’ve had to go out and get some shots on my own.  Since I wrote the script for myself, I’m always available. haha.  Shooting alone limits me to a stationary camera, but beyond that I’ve got a world of options and, especially, time.  If a static shot isn’t gonna work for the scene, I work within more usual confines and set it up with my DP.  But if I think I can do it alone, I’ll give it a shot. (That unintended pun was so bad I’m gonna leave it in.)

Here’s two examples from a couple set-ups I shot on my own.  I had the bonus of no dialogue in these scenes, but I’ve done scene’s with dialogue on my own as well.  I guess technically that would be a monologue, but you get the point.

First, a night in the McCree household:

Lit and shot this at my buddies place that I'm plant sitting at.

And second, a usual morning for Jones:

A buddy that had a pull-up bar let me come over and shoot for a bit.

Granted these are pretty simple set-ups.  I played with the lighting until I got something I was happy with and then hit record.  But that said, this is one of the things that I love most about shooting DSLR.  I was able to create the image with one or two lights and make a bunch of on-camera adjustments.  And the DSLR makes it so easy to go back and watch a take and make adjustments.  All of that would be so much more cumbersome to do on my DVX100, for example.

This entry was posted in D7000, Jones McCree. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

